Week 03/52 “Insertion” – Selection

Pick for this week above. Although I explored “insertion” as engaging and interacting with the subject and making their portrait, I did not like this approach as it wasn’t evident at first glance without the justification/spiel.

r0009008
Alvin – Perth 2017

Alternatively, I went and searched for people in the process of inserting something. A straight to the point approach.

r0009099
A disappearing finger – Perth 2017
r0009139
Parking ticket – Northbridge 2017

In the end, I went with  inserting my self/shadow into the image. At least this way I was physically inserting my presence in the image, not just by the approach to create a portrait.

r0008423
Skater, shadows and mural – Northbridge 2017

The image I chose for the week was the juxtaposition of the mannequin and lady’s arms to portray the insertion. I also like that my shadow is visible in this image.

Leave a Reply

