Week 23/52 “Portraits” – Selections

For week 23 I decided to continue with my portrait challenge. So there’s no theme per say. Most of the subject I spoke with and asked but some were taken candidly.

R0015784
Captain America

I find since asking people for their photo and having a mini chat, it has made me more comfortable with approaching people. Knowing how to diffuse a situation and just be comfortable with what street photography is.

R0015772
Falun gong practicioner

Fear in street photography is weird. There is no ill intent after all. It’s our lizard brain who is fearful.

R0015777

The stoic Seneca has a great quote which I like to read before my lunch photo time to help get me out of the fear mindset.

The mind at times fashions for itself false shapes of evil when there are no signs that point to any evil; it twists into the worst construction some word of doubtful meaning; or it fancies some personal grudge to be more serious than it really is, considering not how angry the enemy is, but to what lengths he may go if he is angry. But life is not worth living, and there is no limit to our sorrows, if we indulge our fears to the greatest possible extent; in this matter, let prudence help you, and contemn with a resolute spirit even when it is in plain sight.

Seneca – On Groundless Fears

R0015522
Australia

 

 

4 thoughts on “Week 23/52 “Portraits” – Selections

Leave a comment